What amount of property damage necessitates reporting a boating accident under Florida law?

The state of Florida is a boater’s paradise. From lakes to rivers, to the vast Gulf of Mexico and Atlantic Ocean, there is a waterway for everyone to enjoy. But with such a large boating community comes the need for safety measures and regulations, including reporting boating accidents. It is important to know Florida law when it comes to reporting property damage resulting from a boating accident.

Florida law stipulates that any boating accident that results in property damage in excess of $2,000 must be reported to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) within 10 days of the incident. Property damage includes damage to any vessel, motor, dock or other property involved in the accident. If the accident results in personal injury, death, or disappears or is destroyed, it must be reported immediately.

It is important to note that if you have any doubts about whether the damage exceeds the $2,000 threshold, it is always better to err on the side of caution and report the incident. Reporting a boating accident where property damage exceeds $2,000 allows FWC to collect important information for their database and aids in improving boater safety on Florida waterways.

When reporting a boating accident to FWC, be sure to provide as much information as possible about the incident, including date and time, boat descriptions, operator information, and a detailed explanation of the incident. The more information provided, the better equipped FWC will be to investigate and determine factors that may have contributed to the accident.

In addition to reporting the accident to FWC, boaters are also required to exchange information with the other boater(s) involved. The information should include the name and address of the owner and operator of each vessel, vessel registration number, insurance information, and a description of the boat and its damages.

It is crucial to always be aware of your surroundings while operating a vessel and to follow all boating regulations set forth by the state of Florida. Remember, if you are involved in a boating accident where property damage exceeds $2,000, promptly report it to the FWC. It is the law, and it’s the right thing to do. Safe boating!

Have something to add or correct? Please let us know by clicking here.
* See disclaimer in the footer of the site for use of this content.

Related Questions


Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Our Newsletter

Get the latest boating tips, fishing resources and featured products in your email from BoatingWorld.com!